Halo 5: Guardians. Painfully Average

halo-5

By Tom Farmer

 

As a teenager, my best friend Dave and I were obsessed with video games. Nintendo 64, Playstation 2, Game Boy Advanced, Nintendo GameCube. You name the system that was big in the early 2000’s, we had it. Many Saturday nights were spent winning the Tag Team Championships together in WrestleMania 2000 until 2 in the morning or defeating the evil King K. Rool in Donkey Kong 64. Those are some of the best memories of my life. Around 2004, I went over to Daves house because he told me about a new system that his mom got for him for his birthday. The Xbox. At first, I wasn’t impressed. “Oh it’s just another knock off gaming system that wont be able to be as big as Playstation or Nintendo” I told him. He brushed that off and said “Let’s play Halo.” 

Halo? What the hell is that?

I was obsessed. Eventually, I ended up purchasing one for myself and, of course, I bought Halo with it. I cannot tell you how many hours during the school week I spent playing that game. I think at the time, I was averaging 3-4 hours of sleep a day before school. Like I said, I was obsessed. 

When Halo 2 came out, the hype was just as big for it as it was for the original Halo. But something was different about this Halo. They came out with Xbox Live. Its the same experience as playing with someone on your couch inside of your home, but now you could play with different people around the world. I was blown away. I met new friends, that I still play Xbox with to this day, and developed a new love for the gaming world where I became extremely competitive. I wanted to be the very best I could at this game

Halo came out with other games but Bungie, the creator of the game, were sick of only being known as the creators of Halo and moved on from the revolutionary series to pursue different opportunities and passed the franchise on to 343 Industries. 343 made Halo Reach, Halo 4 and just Released Halo 5 and they are all, in my opinion and in my words, painfully average. The first Halo games were revolutionary and changed the generation of gamers around the world. Halo 4 was basically Call Of Duty, another first person shooter made by Activision, and it didn’t feel like you were experiencing the same world the old games. Halo 5 came out in October and the reviews are in.

 “Halo 5 is a jumble of half measures, trying to cram in ideas from other games but lacking the courage to change up the series’ formula beyond these superficial shifts. The result is an underwhelming experience that is unlikely to entice new fans while frustrating longtime followers of the series.” – Noah Dulis, breitbart.com

That’s the best review for the game I have found on the web. It doesn’t bring in any new ideas that you haven’t seen in any other game and I feel as the 343 team put together a game in 4 days and just stole a story and a concept from other games. Although sales and number of players playing the game on Xbox Live indicate success for the franchise, I feel like older players of the franchise will only buy and play will because of the brand. There’s going to be at least 1 more game addition to the series, and that terrifies me to death because of the games keep going in this direction, the franchise that made me into the gamer I am will be forever tarnished by these last 2 releases.

For the breitbart review and IGN review, click links below

www./tech/2015/11/16/halo-5-guardians-review-not-worthy-of-the-mantle/http://www.ign.com/articles/2015/10/26/halo-5-guardians-review

Author: slayer1223

Clevelander born to love bad sports teams, play heavy metal, eat greasy food and always beat the game on the hardest difficulty first

Leave a Reply

